Audiobooks for Holiday Road Trips

Audiobooks for Holiday Road Trips

Other than plenty of snacks, and directions to your destination, audiobooks are the most important part of a road trip, in my opinion at least. If you are alone, they make for great company and help pass the time, and if you are with friends, they can be great bonding experiences or conversation starters.

I have compiled a list of 29 audiobooks that are perfect for you holiday road trips. Read the blurbs to learn more about each book, and why I love them, or hover over the picture for a little tag line.

  1. READ BY THE AUTHOR

    - SNL QUEENS -

THE BIGGEST LOLS

THE BIGGEST LOLS

 

yes please

by amy poehler

The audiobook in narrated by Amy as well as some friends who’s voices you will recognize. If you are a Parks and Rec fan this is a must listen.

Girl walks Into A Bar

by Rachel Dratch

This is the audiobook that has hand down made me laugh the hardest. It is interesting, and sincere, and at times unbearably hilarious.

A MUST FOR PARKS AND REC FANS

A MUST FOR PARKS AND REC FANS

 
LISTEN WITH FRIENDS AND DISCUSS

LISTEN WITH FRIENDS AND DISCUSS

BOSSYPANTS

BY TINA FEY

While this one is just an funny as you would expect a book by Tina to be, it is also inspiring and insightful. And would be a great book to listen to with friends and then discuss.

 

- FUNNY PEOPLE ON SERIOUS SUBJECTS -

the girl with the lower back tattoo

by amy schumer

If you know Amy’s work or humor this book will surprise you with it’s honestly and vulnerability. I listened to this book on a whim and really enjoyed learning about Amy’s childhood, family, and career. While, yes, it is funny, it is also has poignant and thought provoking moments.

FUNNY, POIGNANT AND    THOUGHT PROVOKING

FUNNY, POIGNANT AND

THOUGHT PROVOKING

 
CRY-LAUGHING AND FEMINIST IDEAS

CRY-LAUGHING AND FEMINIST IDEAS

shrill

by lindy west

This was one of those books that had me laughing until my stomach ached, and telling all my friends to read it before I had even finished it myself. Lindy’s writing is sharp, sincere, and surprising. She writes on a slew of “feminist” topics and about her experiences being a woman with opinions in the public eye. This books takes you from cry-laughing to rage-at-the-state-of-humanity-crying in seconds, and it’s wonderful.

 

furiously happy

by jenny lawson

A funny, quirky, fresh take on mental health. This is one where having it read by the author makes all the difference. Jenny does an excellent job bringing her words to life, and after listening to this book you will feel like she is your new best friend.

FUN, QUIRKY, FRESH AND DEPRESSED

FUN, QUIRKY, FRESH AND DEPRESSED

 
SEXISM, SCIENCE, AND BRITISH HUMOR

SEXISM, SCIENCE, AND BRITISH HUMOR

ANIMAL

BY SARA PASCOE

Sara is a British comedian, and a new favorite of mine. This book is endlessly fascinating and incredibly informative. It is about evolution, gender ideals, stereotypes, sexism, and the things that make us human, while also being witty and hilarious. I can not recommend this book enough, but be warned, it might change your life. Plus, Sara has a British accent that makes listening to it extra wonderful.

- ACTRESSES -

QUICK WIT AND A FRIENDLY VOICE

QUICK WIT AND A FRIENDLY VOICE

Why Not Me

by Mindy Kaling

I have never watched anything that Mindy has starred in but this book was delightful and laugh out loud funny anyways. Her stories are relatable and told with quick wit and a friendly voice.

 
SOLID CELEB MEMOIR

SOLID CELEB MEMOIR

TALKING AS FAST AS I CAN

BY Lauren Graham

An absolute must read for fans of Gilmore Girls or Parenthood. Lauren shares behind the scenes stories as well as tales from her fascinating life before fame.

I DON’T KNOW WHAT YOU

KNOW ME FROM

BY JUDY GREER

This book was an absolute delight. Judy is just as funny on the page as she is on the screen. I would call this more a collection of essays or personal stories than a memoir, it is evident that Judy is a wonderful storyteller.

A WONDERFUL STORYTELLER

A WONDERFUL STORYTELLER

- ESSAYS TO MAKE YOU LAUGH -

WIT, ENERGY, AND RHYTHM

WIT, ENERGY, AND RHYTHM

how to ruin everything

by george watsky

Watsky is a rapper and slam poet, which is not only apparent in his writing but also narration. He writes with wit and rhythm and reads with energy and an air of performance. Watsky’s discussions of  viral fame, cross-border artifact smuggling, and recovering from poor choices made in public and both fascinating and funny.

 

I’VE GOT THIS ROUND

BY MAMRIE HART

Mamrie Hart is one of the people I turn to when I need to laugh. I’ve Got This Round is a collection of astonishing, hilarious, and unbelievable true stories from a year in Mamrie’s life. An actress and entertainer, Mamrie narrates this book with pizzazz.

UNBELIEVABLE TRUE STORIES

UNBELIEVABLE TRUE STORIES

 

- INTERESTING AND INSPIRING NON-FICTION -

LIKE A PEP TALK FROM YOUR BFF

LIKE A PEP TALK FROM YOUR BFF

big magic

by elizabeth gilbert

This is probably the book I recommend the most. I think it is one that can improve anyone's life. To me, the author, Liz Gilbert has a soothing and pleasant voice. If you’re looking for an audiobook that feels like a pep talk from your best friend to inspire you, this is it.

 

the four tendencies

gretchen rubin

If you are looking to avoid conflict with your family during the holidays, or starting to think about your new year's resolutions, listening to this book would be a massive help. The Four Tendencies break down how people are motivated. It’s a simple and straightforward book, so the concepts transfer well, and I think you can learn just as much from listening to it as reading it.

TO UNDERSTAND YOURSELF AND FAMILY BETTER

TO UNDERSTAND YOURSELF AND FAMILY BETTER

 

- HEART WARMING MEMOIRS -

SO WORTH THE HYPE

SO WORTH THE HYPE

EAT PRAY LOVE

ELIZABETH GILBERT

I saw this movie when it first came out, and I was sophomore in college; so, I never considered reading the book. Last year a friend convinced me I needed to read it and I am so glad I finally did. While the movie is excellent, the book expands the story and is interesting, and engaging (even if you know what happens). The audiobook is also great for all of the reasons Big Magic is. (Can you tell I really love Liz Gilbert?)

 

LOVE WARRIOR

GLENNON DOYLE

A moving memoir about mental health, love, sexism, addiction, and marriage. The emotion, passion, and empathy of the author are magnified by her narration. Good for the listener who wants something to feed the soul.

TO FEED YOUR SOUL

TO FEED YOUR SOUL

 

2. CLASSICS + CELEBRITY NARRATORS

- JANE AUSTEN -

One of the reasons I recommend Jane Austen books in the audio format is because it helps solve two problems that a lot of people experience when reading Austen for the first time.

1. It sorts out the language for you: When reading, and you come to a word you don’t know, it can slow you down and become frustrating, but with audiobook that is the narrators burden to bear. Additionally, the older style of dialogue as well as the British English turns of phrase as easier to grasp.

2. It helps keep the characters in order: With a good narration comes well done voices for each character. I find that this helps me remember who is who better than just trying to remember the names.

MOST ROMANTIC

MOST ROMANTIC

pride and prejudice

by jane Austen

Read by Rosamund Pike

This is Jane Austen at her finest. There is a reason it is so popular and has been for so long, it really is that good. And as much as I love some of the remakes, you can’t beat the original.

EASIEST TO READ

EASIEST TO READ

persuasion

by jane Austen

Read by Juliet Stevenson

This is the shortest of all Jane Austen’s novels and I think makes a great introduction to her writing.

MOST RELATABLE

MOST RELATABLE

emma

jane austen

Read by Juliet Stevenson

Perhaps this is thanks to Clueless, but I find Emma to have the most relatable plot and characters.

- AGATHA CHRISTIE -

Read by actor Dan Stevens these were books that I loved as a teenager, and a mystery is always a great choice if you want to make a long road trip go by quickly.

AND THEN THERE WERE NONE

BY AGATHA CHRISTIE

murder on the orient express audiobook .jpg

MURDER ON THE ORIENT EXPRESS

BY AGATHA CHRISTIE

3. VOICE ACTOR NARRATION

- FICTION -

Eligible

BY Curtis  Sittenfeld

A modern pride and prejudice retelling with excellent narration. Perfect for fans of the original; the interesting and creative choices the author makes will keep you intrigued and surprised.

FOR THE PRIDE AND PREJUDICE FAN

FOR THE PRIDE AND PREJUDICE FAN

AN ALMOST MOVIE-LIKE AUDIOBOOK

AN ALMOST MOVIE-LIKE AUDIOBOOK

My Oxford Year*

by Julia Whelan

This book is both fiction AND narrated by the author. Author, Julia Whelan is a professional audiobook Narrator and actor, as well as a writer. With both American and British characters this is a difficult story to narrate well, but Julia does a wonderful job. (She just won an award for the narration). This is a post-college coming of age story with depth, humor, and and a plot that keeps a quick pace and is sure to make your trip fly by.

 

4. YOUNG ADULT

- GREAT MOVIES, EVEN BETTER BOOKS -

Simon vs. the homo sapiens agenda

by Becky albertalli

Teen You've Got Mail sort of modern love story. Whether you have or haven’t see the movie, Love, Simon, this book is absolutely worth listening to.

LOTS OF FEELS NOT TOO CHEESY

LOTS OF FEELS NOT TOO CHEESY

 
HIGH STAKES BUT SWEET ROMANCE

HIGH STAKES BUT SWEET ROMANCE

Everything, Everything*

By Nicola Yoon

Everything, Everything tells the story of Maddy, a girl who can’t remember the last time she was able to leave her house, and the Olly, the new boy next door who’s presence in Maddy’s life threatens to change everything, everything. This story moves quickly and is guaranteed to keep you on the edge of your seat.

 

- SHORT STORIES -

Meet Cute

By Various Authors

Meet Cute is a collection of short stories centered on the “meet cute” of romantic relationships. Fourteen short stories, told by 7 different narrators over 10 hours. This is perfect for shorter trips with each story being less than an hour, and giving you plenty of natural stopping points. Each author brings unique and well developed characters and no two stories are too alike.

SHORT STORIES, SO CUTE

SHORT STORIES, SO CUTE

 

- LOVE STORIES I LOVE -

HEARTWARMING AND HEART BREAKING

HEARTWARMING AND HEART BREAKING

Eleanor and Park*

By Rainbow Rowell

One of my all time favorite books, and an excellent audiobook. This is a story that is equally parts heartwarming and heartbreaking about a relationship between two teens in the 1980s. The book is written with dual narration, so it has a both a male and female narrator, which helps keep the listener engaged.

Everything Leads to You

By Nina Lacour

Modern day Hollywood magic, a mystery, and young love all come together in this sweet story. Emi is a budding film set designer who is trying and failing to get over her ex. This story is about new beginnings and figuring out how to see someone else as they truly are.

HOLLYWOOD MAGIC AND YOUNG LOVE

HOLLYWOOD MAGIC AND YOUNG LOVE

 
ACTUAL MAGIC AND EPIC HATEMANCE

ACTUAL MAGIC AND EPIC HATEMANCE

Carry On

By Rainbow Rowell

A YA fantasy story told from multiple perspectives about a magical world and “the chosen one” Simon Snow. Full of romance, magic, beautiful friendships, shocking twists and turns, this story is non-stop entertainment. Don’t forget to keep your eyes on the road while getting lost in the world of Watford.

 

*May Induce Tears

If you are the driver, and feel an ugly cry coming on, please pull safely to the side of the road.

 

I you listen to any of these books, while on a road trip or not, let me know what you think! I would also love to hear your favorite audiobooks to listen to on a long car ride.